Site Search

Social Bookmarks

FacebookMySpaceTwitterDiggDeliciousStumbleuponGoogle BookmarksRedditNewsvineTechnoratiLinkedinMixxRSS FeedPinterest

Local Weather

Click for Geneva, Nebraska Forecast


Fillmore County Part Of FEMA Disaster Area

By Signal Staff

Severe storms, tornadoes and straight-line winds, which occurred from June 12-17, have caused  government officials to declare a Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Disaster for Banner, Box Butte, Butler, Cass, Cuming, Dodge, Douglas, Fillmore, Gage, Jefferson, Morrill, Polk, Sarpy, Saunders, Sheridan, Sioux, Thurston, and Wayne Counties for the period of June 12-17.
Public assistance is now available to public agencies that may have had to perform emergency work or repair or replace disaster-damaged facilities.  Nebraska Governor Pete Ricketts requested assistance from these storms on July 13.  Additional designations may be made at a later date.
Ricketts issued a statement following news that President Donald J. Trump had approved a disaster declaration for Nebraska following storms in June.  The declaration releases federal funds to aid 18 Nebraska counties in their recovery efforts.  Governor Ricketts submitted a letter requesting the declaration last month.
 “Thank you to President Trump and his team for approving this declaration,” said Ricketts in his statement.  “Our communities are resilient, and this assistance will help Nebraskans accelerate their efforts to fully recover from the severe weather and tornadoes that impacted our state in June.”
FEMA announced, that federal disaster assistance has been made available to the state of Nebraska to supplement state, tribal, and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe storms, tornadoes, and straight-line winds from June 12-17.
 Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, tornadoes and straight-line winds. Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.
Dolph A. Diemont has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Diemont said additional designations may be made at a later date if warranted by the results of damage assessments.