Beef Council Announces Directors For 2014

Kearney, (July 28, 2014) – Results are in for the Nebraska Beef Council Board of Director elections. Four directors were elected uncontested and will begin their second four-year term January 1, 2015.

District 2- Chris Abbott, a commercial cow- calf producer from Gordon, NE.  District 2 includes the following counties: Cherry, Keya Paha, Brown, Rock, Grant, Hooker, Thomas, Blaine, Loup.  This will be Abbott’s second four-year term on the board.

District 4-Richard Schrunk, a background feeder cattle producer from Emmet, NE.  District 4 includes the following counties:  Boyd, Holt, Knox, Antelope, Wheeler, Boone. This will be Schrunk’s second four-year term on the board.

District 6- Steve Hanson, a cow-calf producer and feedlot operator from Elsie, NE.  District 6 includes the following counties:  Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Keith, Lincoln, Perkins, Chase, Hayes, Dundy, Hitchcock.  This will be Hanson’s second four-year term on the board.

District 8– Dawn Caldwell, a cow-calf producer from Edgar, NE.  District 8 includes the following counties:  Seward, Lancaster, Otoe, Adams, Clay, Fillmore, Saline, Gage, Johnson, Nemaha, Webster, Nuckolls, Thayer, Jefferson, Pawnee, Richardson.  This will be Caldwell’s second four-year term on the board.

A Nebraska Beef Council Director represents beef producers on the state and national level for both domestic and international marketing ventures. The Directors make investment decisions for beef checkoff dollars and determine which promotion programs are the most beneficial for the industry. This process is based on a detailed evaluation system and beef producer feedback.

The Nebraska Beef Council is a non-profit organization served by a nine-member board of directors.  The volunteers oversee Nebraska’s beef checkoff and checkoff-funded programs.  Programs for marketing and promotion are funded by the beef checkoff.

Leave a Reply