Free Local Elected Officials Training

You’ve been elected, appointed or hired, but do you “Know your Role” in the government process? Local elected officials, city administrators, clerks, municipal staff and volunteers from Villages, Cities and Counties in SE Nebraska are invited to attend a free 4-hour training geared toward the local elected officials role in municipal government.

The program will kick off with a basic elected officials training conducted by Lynn Rex, Executive Director of the Nebraska League of Municipalities. A panel of experienced professionals including a city administrator, mayor, clerk and an elected official will also provide examples of their role in the municipal process. Topics include policy and administration, where to find help, open meetings act and responsibilities of the office held.

Next, Frank Daley, Executive Director of the Nebraska Accountability and Disclosure Commission will present information on conflict of interest and ethics for public officials. The session will provide a crash course on the Nebraska political accountability and disclosure act which includes conflict of interest laws which are applicable to village board members, city council members and mayors. The session will include scenarios from three general categories which include hiring of immediate family members, interests in a contract and other conflicts.

The program will end with an opportunity for community members to visit one-on-one with resource and service providers from USDA Rural Development, US Small Business Administration, Nebraska Department of Economic Development; Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality, Nebraska Department of Labor, Nebraska Investment Finance Authority; the Southeast Nebraska Development District; and Utility Providers during an open round table session.

The event will take place at the Southeast Nebraska Community College, Beatrice Campus from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. on October 16, with registration opening at 12:30 p.m. There is no cost to attend the workshop, however a registration is required to save your seat as space is limited.

This program is being hosted by the Southeast Nebraska Resource Network (SERN), a group of development resource and service providers interested in the betterment of Southeast Nebraska. SERN includes the following Nebraska Counties and their municipalities: Butler, Cass, Fillmore, Gage, Jefferson, Johnson, Lancaster, Nemaha, Otoe, Pawnee, Polk, Richardson, Saline, Saunders, Seward, Thayer and York.

The program is being sponsored by the following: Black Hills Energy, Nebraska Municipal Power Pool, Nebraska Public Power District, Omaha Public Power District, the Southeast Community College and a grant awarded by the Partnership for Rural Nebraska.

For more information contact Jen Olds at the Southeast Nebraska Development District (SENDD), 402-475-2560 or Registration materials are available online at and will be mailed to communities and elected officials within the SERN service area.

Leave a Reply